



SECOND CHINA ROUND TABLE ON WTO ACCESSION FOR LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES (LDCS)

THE FUTURE OF THE MULTIL

Version 6: 1 July 2013

14 OCTOBER 2013

Registration upon arrival at Luang Prabang View Hotel (Phuo Meo, Lao-Thai Friendship Road, Luang Prabang Laos, Tel No +856 71 260 560 Fax No : +856 71 260 234 mailto:booking@lpbview.com) All Day

DAY ONE - 15 OCTOBER 2013

08:30 Group Photograph for the Second China Round Table Participants

08:45 **Opening Ceremony**

Version 6: 1 July 2013

14:00 Session 6: Technical Assistance for the LDC Acceding Governments

Capacity-building provides the found ation for knowledge of the accession process. Knowledge of the rules-based Multilateral Trading Sy stem and the application of WTO principles and agreements to the national legal framework are prior conditions for WTO membership. Over the past years, the Accessions Division of the WTO Secretariat has developed an Accessions Toolbox to facilitate the accession processes. Various technical assistance programmes are available from the WTO, ITC, UNCTAD, World Bank, IMF, ADB (CAREC) and other international or ganizations, as well as individual Members. Better coordination is stronger partnership are of urgent necessities. This session will required; more timely delivery and discuss both the demand and supply sides of technical assistance to explore a strategy for addressing the real demand of LDCs in achieving their accession goals. The session will also explore strategies for intensifying outreach efforts with both domestic stak eholders and external part ners so as to ensure a smoother and faster accession process. Issues to be discussed include:

Version 6: 1 July 2013

WORKSHOP FOCAL POINTS

Lao PDR:

- H.E. Mr. Yong Chanthalangsy (Tel: + 41 22 798 2442 / Fax: + 41 22 798 2440 / email: ychanthalangsy@yahoo.fr)
- Mr. Santisouk Phounesavath (Tel: +85621 450065 / Fax: +85621 450066, Mobile phone: +85620 77414607, +85620 2222 4807 / e-mail: santisoukben@gmail.com and/or s.phounesavath@laoftpd.com)

WTO Secretariat:

- Mr. Dayong Yu (Tel: +41 22 739 6572 / Fax: +41 22 739 5690 / e-mail: dayong.yu@wto.org)
- Ms. Maika Oshikawa (Tel: +41 22 739 5643 / Fax: +41 22 739 5764 / e-mail: maika.oshikawa@wto.org)
 Ms. Anne Vittori (Tel: +41 22 739 5119 / Fax: +41 22 739 5724 / e-mail: anne.vittori@wto.org)
- Mrs. Nadia Ferdi Demierre (Tel: +41 22 739 6560 / Fax: +41 22 739 5690 / e-mail: nadia.ferdi@wto.org)

People's Republic of China:

- Mr. Xiankun Lu (Tel: +41 22 909 7690 / Fax: +41 22 909 7699 / e-mail: luxiankun@mofcom.gov.cn)
- Mr. Wen Cao (Tel: +41 22 909 7668 / Fax: +41 22 909 7699 / e-mail: caowen@mofcom.gov.cn)

8